Houston, we have a promblem.

18 03 2009

Alright, kids, fasten your seat belts.  Or maybe even just skip this post.  I honestly don’t consider myself a “girl” most of the time.  Not that I consider myself a man, it’s just my head is a weird place, and I’d like to think I transcend the stereotypically low plane of girldom.  Anyhow, to the title.

I got asked to prom today.

Yup.  Even typing that makes me feel like a girly-girl.  The type of girl that blogs when she gets asked to prom.  The kind of girl who blogs about prom.  Honestly, I cannot stress how foreign this is for me.

prom-postyI don’t even know how to start.  I guess I can map out two scenarios, but first let me set up the scene.  The boy — let’s call him Marty.  He is really nice.  Um… crap, freakin’ Internet really censors me sometimes.  Unfortunately, Marty is intelligent and has the capability of stumbling upon or even seeking this blog since he already found me on Twitter.  I guess I’ll just say that I have a couple classes with him; we talk.  I’ve talked to him at the raves I’ve mentioned.  He is really intelligent, and sure, he’s awkward, but I can’t plead innocent to that quality either.  I dunno, I guess we are kinda friends, but not really good ones.  It’s really just recently that I had a legit conversation with him, and that was on Facebook, so does it really count?  I could sense that he kinda had a thing for me, but other than him being the opposite sex, I’m really not that attracted to him.  He would be a GREAT guy friend.  That void he could certainly fill.

Scenario Un
I say yes.  But I tell him that it wouldn’t be fair if I didn’t tell him that I only like him as a friend, and I want to be better friends.  Give him the option to back out and take a girl who I know wants to go with him.  Stress that.  If we end up going together, I somehow drag Emily along and plant the seed for Jess to ask her, so I’m not alone.  Then I get the fabulous leather dress I’ve been eyeing, go to prom, dance, and then I don’t have to worry about potentially not going next year.

Scenario Deux
I say no.  Do I make up an excuse?  Do I pair it with telling him that I kind of already like someone else, and that I don’t want him to think that I like him?  I suggest he go for another girl.  

Okay, this post was way better in my head.  At least all these thoughts are dumped somewhere.  I feel like I should have confined all this to my diary.  Oh well, the world needs a Marion tidbit every once in a while.

I have a huge binder grade due tomorrow for AP English and History that I need to tackle, so I’m gonna get to that.

Hi.

Also, I want my mother to come home.  The Reese’s I bought yesterday is in her car :[

Actions

Information

5 responses

18 03 2009
Claire

Well, to put in my couple of cents…

My view on Formal (which I suppose is the Australian version of Prom) is that if you weren’t going with someone you really liked, then just go stag. To me the point of going with a partner was that you were in a relationship.

So, to my surprise, one of my guy friends asked me to go with him. I barely talked to him, and really did not want to spend my entire formal attempting to make small talk, so I said no, even though I kinda felt bad. But really, he was asking me as a matter of convenience, not because he wanted to date me. I ended up using my Plus One ticket for one of my friends in the grade below, and it was very enjoyable.

But that’s just my scenario. If you wouldn’t mind having a date to prom, and he’d be a nice option – then say yes! Just make it clear about the whole ‘friends only’ thing, just in case.

/end two cents comment.

19 03 2009
Morgan

I say scenario un. And maybe he’s jsut asking you just to go- maybe he doesn’t actually mean it as a date. I can’t really back that statement fully, though because the guy who asked me to prom ended up liking me, too. But I say give it a shot, girl.

19 03 2009
Morgan

did that comment even work?

19 03 2009
Danny

I would go with Scenario Un

21 03 2009
Amy

I’m in the same situation right now. This guy REALLY likes me (he’s also kind of awkward), but I like him only as a friend. I don’t think it would be fair to say yes to him since I don’t feel the same way about him as he does me, so I’m gonna tell him I want to just be friends. I hate this kind of sitation – I feel so bad saying no!

Good luck choosing a scenario!

Leave a Reply

